Happy independence day Malawi

The Central African Federation was dissolved in 1963, which consisted of Southern (Zimbabwe) and Northern (Zambia) Rhodesia and Nyasaland (Malawi), and on 6 July 1964, Nyasaland became independent from Britain and renamed itself Malawi.

Things you may not know about Malawi:

– ‘Malawi’ means ‘fire flames’. 
– The country takes its name from the reflection of the rising sun on the waters of the vast Lake Malawi. 
– The name originates from the Maravi Kingdom, which straddled the current borders of Malawi, Mozambique, and Zambia in the 16th Century. 
– The country is also affectionately known as “The Warm Heart of Africa” due to the kind and hospitable nature of its inhabitants. 
– 10 major ethnic groups are historically associated with modern Malawi, incl. Chewa, Tumbuka, Nyanja, Yao, Sena and Lomwe.
– English and Chichewa are the main languages. 
– Dance is an important part of Malawi’s culture. The National Dance Troupe was formed in 1987 by the government. Traditional dances and music can be seen as an initiation rite and are used during rituals and marriage celebrations and ceremonies.
– Malawi is home to the Chongoni Rock Art Area, which was listed in UNESCO World Heritage in 2006. The Chongoni Rock Art Area consists of 127 sites that feature the richest collection of rock art in Central Africa. Providing a glimpse into the traditions of rock art of the hunter gatherers and of agriculturalists from the Late Stone Age up to the present day.
– The economy is fueled by agriculture, and 90% of export revenues come from produce grown across the country. Tobacco is one of the country’s most lucrative produce, accounting for more than 50% of total exports. Other items include tea, cotton, sugar, coffee, peanuts, and wooden products.
– Lake Malawi, also known as Lake Nyasa, accounts for more than one-fifth of the country’s total area. And is the fourth-largest freshwater lake in the world.

Leave a Comment